More goals were scored in this Premier League campaign than in any other season of the competition’s history.The title race went down to the wire between Manchester City and Liverpool, with Pep Guardiola’s men coming up trumps.Stream over 50 sports live & anytime on your TV or favourite device with KAYO SPORTS. The biggest Aussie sports and the best from overseas. Just $25/month. No lock-in contract. Get your 14 day free trial >Final night PL goal frenzy4:22Round 3820Visit Match Centre2Tottenham Hotspur StadiumFull Time2Visit Match Centre04Visit Match Centre14Visit Match Centre00Visit Match Centre02Visit Match Centre14Visit Match Centre11Visit Match Centre53Visit Match Centre13Visit Match CentreBut all the other teams played their part to ensure it was the most goal-laden Premier League term since its inception in 1992.The 2011-12 campaign saw 1,066 balls hit the back of the net – to hold the title going into this season.And following seasons failed to match that target, despite boasting some exciting title-winning teams.MORE FOOTBALL NEWSBACK TO BACK: City storm home to claim epic PL title triumphREVEALED: The silver lining to Premier League’s cruellest twistEXTRA TIME: Records shattered in historic Premier League finaleCity triumph on final day3:33However, Christian Eriksen’s 75th-minute strike against Everton on Sunday afternoon finally saw the record broken.And five more goals across the other games in the remaining 15 minutes meant the 2018-19 term boasted an incredible 1,072 goals in total.Who scored the record goals?1,067: Christian Eriksen (Spurs vs Everton) 75’ – RECORD BROKEN1,068: Mark Noble (West Ham vs Watford) 78’1,069: Andros Townsend (Crystal Palace vs Bournemouth) 80’1,070: Sadio Mane (Liverpool vs Wolves) 81’1,071: Salomon Rondon (Newcastle vs Fulham) 90’1,072: Eddie Nketiah (Arsenal vs Burnley) 94’But despite the mega haul, there was no outright winner in the Golden Boot race.Liverpool pair Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane ended up sharing the award with Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, with the trio bagging 22 goals each.It was the lowest return since Man City’s Carlos Tevez and Man Utd’s Dimitar Berbatov landed the silverware with just 20 goals apiece in 2011.This story originally appeared in The Sun and was reproduced with permission.

Source link